La photothèque planétaire d'orsay Regional Planetary Image Facilities
Home page > The Moon > Impact Melt Channel

Impact Melt Channel

Wednesday 16 May 2012

Image Credit: NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

Mission: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter.

Instrument: Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter Camera.

Impact melt, rock that is melted by the tremendous energy released during an impact cratering event, results in fascinating morphologies visible in many NAC images. Most melt stays inside the crater, freezing into melt-ponds, but some is thrown out of the crater and flows down the exterior ejecta blanket until it is completely solidified by surface cooling.

Today’s Featured Image explores a fantastic impact melt deposit on the southern rim slope of Petavius B, about 2.5 km away from the rim. The flat floored arc-shaped area at the bottom of this image was likely a pool of melt that drained out of the channel at the top. The shadows highlight the depth and steep banks of the channel.

Similar morphologies are found within terrestrial lava flows, but the terrestrial examples often have distinctive cracks as lava backs up beneath a crust forming tumuli or pressure ridges. Why do we not see similar structures on the Moon? This is a mystery, but perhaps the impact melts have lower viscosities or different cooling processes than the lava on Earth!

Université Paris-Sud 11 Faculté des Sciences GEOPS CNRS
RSS 2.0 | Site Map | Private area | SPIP

La photothèque planétaire d'orsay Regional Planetary Image Facilities
Accueil du site > La Lune > Chaîne d’impacts fondus

Chaîne d’impacts fondus

mercredi 16 mai 2012

Image Credit : NASA/GSFC/Arizona State University

Mission : Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter.

Instrument : Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter Camera.

Le phénomène de fusion de la roche généré par l’incroyable énergie libérée pendant un événement de formation d’un cratère d’impact, a pour résultat de morphologies fascinantes visibles dans de nombreuses images du NAC. La plupart des structures restent à l’intérieur du cratère, figés dans le bassin de fusion, mais certaines sont projetées hors du cratère et coulent le long de la surface d’éjectas jusqu’à être complètement solidifiées par refroidissement.

L’image d’aujourd’hui explore une structure due à une fusion d’impact sur le bord de la pente sud de Petavius B, à environ 2,5 kilomètres du bord du cratère. Le secteur en forme d’arc situé au bas de cette image est probablement le dépôt dû à la vidange du canal qui se trouve plus haut. Les ombres mettent en évidence la profondeur et les rives escarpées du canal.

Les flux de lave terrestres présentent des morphologies similaires, mais les exemples terrestres ont souvent des fissures distinctives dues au fait que la lave exerce de la pression en dessous de la surface et forme ainsi des rides de pression. Pourquoi ne voyons-nous pas de structures similaires sur la Lune ? Ceci est un mystère, mais peut-être que le phénomène de fusion d’impact a une viscosité plus basse ou subi un processus de refroidissement différent de la lave sur terre !

Université Paris-Sud 11 Faculté des Sciences GEOPS CNRS
RSS 2.0 | Plan du site | Espace privé | SPIP